CBRS Leadership

The Conference of Neuroscience Leaders is comprised of the heads of more than 30 neuroscience and mental health institutes and programs across the country and large pan-Canadian initiatives. It covers expertise across the basic, clinical, health services and social science research approaches and includes leaders of the Canadian Association for Neuroscience, initiatives funded by the Canada First Research Excellence Fund, CIFAR, provincial networks, and Canada Research Chairs. Neuroscience Leaders oversee the delivery of information to their respective constituents and keep them fully apprised to ensure diverse representation in all CBRS activities. As such, they bring input and commitment from large constituents of the Canadian neuroscience community.

From its outset, CBRS leaders have recognized nation-wide, multi-sectoral consultation as a vital element to the development of a robust strategy for Canadian brain research. In particular, incorporating the voices of early career researchers, Indigenous Peoples, and of patients and people with lived experience have been key areas of priority. This process has been critical in producing an emerging research strategy that is inclusive, broadly supported, and meets Canada’s current and future needs in the neurosciences and mental health research communities.

*Members of the CBRS Steering Committee are marked with an asterisk

Conference of Neuroscience Leaders

Alan Evans (Canadian Open Neuroscience Platform, Healthy Brains for Healthy Lives CFREF, McGill University)
Allison Sekuler* (Rotman Research Institute, Baycrest, Centre for Aging + Brain Health Innovation, University of Toronto, McMaster University)
André Longtin (University of Ottawa)
Aristotle Voineskos (The Centre for Addiction and Mental Health)
Arlette Kolta (University of Montreal)
Chris Anderson (University of Manitoba, Manitoba Neuroscience  Network)
David Park (University of Calgary)
Donald Weaver (Krembil Brain Institute, University Health Network)
Doug Crawford (Vision: Science to Applications CFREF, York University)
Doug Munoz (Queen’s University)
Doug Zochodne* (University of Alberta)
Francisco Cayabyab (University of Saskatchewan)
Gustavo Turecki (Douglas Research Centre, McGill University)
Guy Rouleau (Montreal Neurological Institute, McGill University)
Judy Illes* (Co-Chair, CBRS Steering Committee, Neuroethics Canada, University of British Columbia)
Karim Jerbi (UNIQUE Neuro-AI Research Centre, University of Montreal)
Karun Singh (Krembil Research Institute, University Health Network, McMaster University)
Keith Murai* (Centre for Research in Neuroscience, Brain Repair and Integrative Neuroscience Program, Montreal General Hospital, McGill University Health Centre)
Lisa Saksida (BrainsCAN CFREF, Azrieli Program in Brain, Mind & Consciousness CIFAR, Western University)
Lynn Raymond* (University of British Columbia)
Michael Salter (SickKids Research Institute, University of Toronto)
Michiru Hirasawa* (Memorial University)
Patricia Conrod (Regroupement en neuroscience and santé mentale, University of Montreal)
Ravi Menon (Robarts Research Institute, Western University)
Robert Sutherland (University of Lethbridge)
Ruth Slack (Brain Mind Research Institute, University of Ottawa)
Shernaz Bamji (Canadian Association for Neuroscience, University of British Columbia)
Victor Rafuse* (Dalhousie University)
Yoshua Bengio (Montreal Institute for Learning Algorithms, Institut de valorisation des données CFREF, Learning in Machines and Brains CIFAR, University of Montreal)
Yves De Koninck* (Chair, CBRS Steering Committee, Sentinel North CFREF, Laval University)


Early Career Researchers Leaders

Caroline Ménard* (Early Career Researchers Lead, Laval University)
Derya Sargin* (University of Calgary)
Tabrez Siddiqui* (University of Manitoba)

Indigenous Knowledge Holders Group Leaders

Chelsea Gabel (McMaster University)
Christopher Mushquash (University of Lakehead)
Malcolm King* (University of Saskatchewan)
Melissa Perreault (University of Guelph)

Patient Representatives

Deanna Groetzinger* (Neurological Health Charities of Canada)

CBRS Secretariat

Executive Director
Jennie Z. Young*

Events Director
Marianne Bacani

Knowledge Translation and Communications Specialist
Ashley Lawson


University of Ottawa - Brain and Mind Research Institute

University of Ottawa Brain and Mind Research Institute