Meeting of leading Canadian Neuroscientists

Consensus meeting of leaders of Canadian neuroscience institutes | Halifax

Fourth meeting in Halifax (September 2018), bringing together representatives of neuroscience programs and major initiatives from coast to coast. The participants agreed on overarching programs to propose for CBRS and a path forward to engage the scientific community and stakeholders.


  • Chris Anderson (Neuroscience Program University of Manitoba)
  • Jaideep Bains (Canadian Association for Neuroscience)
  • Julie Carrier (Université de Montréal and IVADO CFREF)
  • Francisco Cayabyab (Neuroscience Research Cluster, University of Saskatchewan)
  • Patricia Conrod (Université de Montréal)
  • Douglas Crawford (York University and VISTA CFREF)
  • Yves De Koninck (CERVO Brain Research Centre, Université Laval and Sentinelle North CFREF)
  • Michiru Hirasawa (Neuroscience Program, Memorial University)
  • André Longtin (Centre for Neural Dynamics + Brain and Mind Research Institute, University of Ottawa)
  • Brian MacVicar (Djavad Mowafaghian Centre for Brain Health, University of British Columbia)
  • Keith Murai (Centre for Research in Neuroscience, Montreal General Hospital, McGill University and Healthy Brain for Healthy Lives CFREF)
  • Naser Muja (Canadian Open Neuroscience Platform)
  • Doug Munoz (Centre For Neuroscience Studies, Queen’s University)
  • Ravi Menon (Robarts Research Institute, Western)
  • Freda Miller (University of Toronto Medicine by Design CREF)
  • David Park (Hotchkiss Brain Institute, University of Calgary)
  • Jean-Baptiste Poline (Montreal Neurological Institute, McGill University; Canadian Open Neuroscience Platform)
  • Victor Rafuse (Brain Repair Centre, Dalhousie University)
  • Jane Roskams (University of British Columbia)
  • Lisa Saksida (BrainsCAN CFREF, Western and CIFAR Azrieli Program in Brain, Mind & Consciousness)
  • Allison Sekuler (Baycrest Health Sciences, University of Toronto)
  • Michael Salter (SickKids Research Institute, University of Toronto)
  • Robert Sutherland (Canadian Centre for Behavioural Neuroscience, University of Lethbridge)
  • John Vincent (Centre for Addiction and Mental Health, University of Toronto)
  • Donald Weaver (Krembil Research Institute, University Health Network, University of Toronto)
  • Douglas Zochodne (Neuroscience and Mental Health Institute, University of Alberta)
  • Beverley Heim-Myers (Neurological Health Charities of Canada)

Samuel Weiss was present for the first part of the meeting; given his directorship position at INMHA, he passed on leadership Yves De Koninck)

Science writer: Lindsay Borthwick